Menu Contact
Call 310-893-0062
For A Free Consultation

auto accidents Archives

Following an injury incident, how can I protect myself legally?

The moments after you have suffered a motor vehicle accident or a slip-and-fall accident in California can naturally be stressful and confusing. In addition to being in pain due to a resulting injury, you may be worried about the final cost of addressing such an injury.

A brief moment of distraction can cause a lifetime of suffering

The ability to multitask can be beneficial in numerous areas of life. Whether at home or work, you might be completely capable of handling multiple tasks at once, even in the presence of distractions. However, there are some areas that require full concentration, and a divide in attention during actions such as driving can be extremely dangerous.

Injured in an accident? Was the other driver at fault?

Car accidents take place under countless circumstances every day. No matter how your accident occurred, the result is often the same, with many collisions ending in serious injury or worse. You may be the type of person who strictly adheres to the rules of the road in hopes that you can avoid a similar circumstance. Unfortunately, even the safest drivers are at risk of suffering at the hands of a negligent driver.

Are Californians the worst drivers? No, but there is room for improvement.

If you were to poll every driver, you would quickly discover that many would claim that their state is home to the absolutely worst drivers in the country. However, the truth is that most of these drivers would be wrong. After all, some states are just worse than others...right?

Proposed law would require drivers under 21 to have provisional licenses

In California, drivers under the age of 18 are currently issued "provisional" licenses - meaning during the first 12 months they cannot drive between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. and they cannot have passengers under the age of 20, unless they have a parent, a certified driving instructor or a licensed driver over the age of 25 in the car.

Are California bars responsible if they over serve customers?

Even though it is illegal under California law for anyone to get behind the wheel if they have a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or more, many drivers continue to do it - often with disastrous results. In fact, according to the California Office of Traffic Safety, there were 882 alcohol-related driving fatalities on California roadways in 2014 alone, the most recent year reported.

How long do I have after a car accident to file my personal injury suit?

Even if you think you may be entitled to damages following a motor vehicle accident, you may still have to file a lawsuit in order to obtain these damages - and this lawsuit must be filed within a specific amount of time, otherwise referred to as the statute of limitations.

Is your phone mounted in your car? If not, you may get a ticket starting in 2017.

On Jan. 1, California's texting-while-driving law is going to change in some very significant ways. For instance, while state law already bans texting while driving - with an exception for voice-operated, hand-free phones - under the language of a new state law, drivers will be completely prohibited from using their mobile phones for any purpose unless the phone is being used hands-free.